## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Multi-State Lottery Association Chuck Strutt

Date: October 29, 2009

## Arkansas Scholarship Lottery Newest Partner to Begin Selling Powerball®

(Powerball) The partnership of U.S. lotteries known as the Multi-State Lottery (MUSL) today welcomed the Arkansas Scholarship Lottery as the 33rd lottery to join in selling Powerball. Arkansas will become the 31st state, along with the District of Columbia and the U.S. Virgin Islands, to offer the game when their ticket sales begin at 10:15 p.m. on Saturday, October 31, 2009.

"We are very pleased to welcome Arkansas into the Powerball family," remarked Rebecca Hargrove, current Chairman of the Powerball Game Group and President and CEO of the Tennessee Education Lottery Corporation. "Powerball is phenomenally popular throughout the country and we are pleased to have lottery players in Arkansas join in the fun."

Chuck Strutt, Executive Director of the Multi-State Lottery Association said the addition of Arkansas is good news for Powerball players across the nation. "Jackpots will grow faster and the game will create even more winners for our many dedicated players across the country." Strutt also congratulated the Arkansas' Lottery for the fastest startup in the nation, "By bringing up the lottery in a record 42 days, the state will begin earning more dollars for it scholarship program."

Powerball first went on sale in 1992 and has raised nearly \$9 billion for the good causes of the participating states.

"It has only been a month since we started selling lottery tickets and we are delighted that we can provide our players such an exciting offering as Powerball so quickly," said Ernie Passailaigue, Arkansas Scholarship Lottery Executive Director. "It is already a very well known and popular game with many of our players and we are all looking forward to the excitement it generates."

## **About MUSL and Powerball:**

The Multi-State Lottery Association (MUSL) is owned and operated by the participating lotteries to facilitate the operation of multi-state games. Powerball was launched in April, 1992 and is played in 31 states, the District of Columbia, and the U.S. Virgin Islands. The 33 MUSL lotteries selling Powerball are: Arizona Lottery, Arkansas Scholarship Lottery, Colorado Lottery, Connecticut Lottery Corporation, D.C. Lottery and Charitable Games Control Board, Delaware Lottery, Florida Lottery, Idaho Lottery, Hoosier Lottery, Iowa Lottery Authority, Kansas Lottery, Kentucky Lottery Corporation, Louisiana Lottery Corporation, Maine State Lottery, Minnesota State Lottery, Missouri

State Lottery, Montana Lottery, Nebraska Lottery, New Hampshire Lottery Commission, New Mexico Lottery Authority, North Carolina Education Lottery, North Dakota Lottery, Oklahoma Lottery Commission, Oregon Lottery, Pennsylvania Lottery, Rhode Island Lottery, South Carolina Education Lottery, South Dakota Lottery, Tennessee Education Lottery Corporation, Virgin Islands Lottery, Vermont Lottery, Wisconsin Lottery, and the West Virginia Lottery.

The Powerball game has provided billions of dollars for worthy programs and benefits as approved by the state governments. For more information on Powerball, visit <a href="https://www.powerball.com">www.powerball.com</a>.

## **About the Arkansas scholarship Lottery:**

The purpose of the Arkansas Scholarship Lottery is to provide scholarships and grants to Arkansas residents enrolled in public and private nonprofit two-year and four-year colleges and universities within the state. The Lottery will be operated with integrity and dignity in a manner that provides entertainment to the public, maximizes revenue and accounts to the public and General Assembly through regular reports and audits.